Amalfi Coast – Day 1 in Capri!

So this weekend, we traveled to the Amalfi Coast, and it was so much fun that I just don’t even know where to begin!

Honestly, I was a little skeptical at first, because we decided to travel with this student-run travel organization. It’s specifically for study abroad students staying in Florence, and they are really good about organizing trips and getting the lowest prices for us. Because as college students, and just normal human beings, our travel budgets are obviously limited. I was a little worried because I wasn’t sure what to expect, and because the entire group of KSU students here in Florence decided to go.  Last time we all went on a trip together, it was a little rough, but fun in the end. This trip was a blast though!! It was so much better than I was expecting, and I loved that everything was organized for us! It made it so much less stressful. Plus, they knew all the best places to go.

We left on Thursday evening after our classes, and we took a charter bus.  It was an eight-hour bus ride, so we didn’t arrive until around 2:30 a.m. On the way there, we watched Zoolander and Euro Trip (both very classy movies). We also passed through a little city called Napoli (Naples), which you may recognize, because it’s where Mary is from! Which reminded me of Christmas. Which made me very happy. I may or may not have listened to a Christmas song or two on the way there…. don’t worry about it.

When we arrived at our hotel, we pretty much went to sleep because it was so late.  The next morning, we woke up bright and early at 7:15 a.m., ate breakfast and headed to this BEAUTIFUL island called Capri! A ferry was waiting for us when we got there, and it took us on an hour and a half tour of the whole island. So many insanely rich people live there…it’s insane. I saw Giorgio Armani’s house and Sophia Loren’s house (well…one of their many houses, anyway) And the whole time, I just kept thinking two things: 1. God is the best artist I know. Look at these mountains. And the ocean. And the sky. And the trees. and 2. How could you ever have a bad day if you live here? I can’t believe people actually live here and get to see this every day. You would have to be the most content person in the whole world. I could never be in a bad mood. Nothing would make me angry. What the heck… why don’t I live here?

I watched a guy running along the pedestrian pathway on the side of the road, in the middle of the mountains, overlooking the most breathtaking view of the Mediterranean Sea with its crystal clear water, and white foam and graceful little sailboats. He was just casually running with his Ipod. Like, “Oh hey. I do this every day. Ain’t no thing.”

Whatever, I’m not jealous. I’m NOT.

Actually, it’s probably a good thing I don’t live there, because I would take everything for granted. I would never need anything more, therefore, I would never know how to appreciate anything. So, being a poor college kid rules. Psh. I’m glad I’m staying in a hostel.  Yeah.

Seriously though, it was gorgeous! I also saw some cool grottos, which made me want to break out in song from The Little Mermaid. I refrained though, in case you were wondering. People would have been distracted by my amazing, Beyonce voice, and I didn’t want to take away from the boating experience.

After the boat tour, we spent the rest of the day at a public beach on the island. The only downside was because the water is so crystal clear (you can see all the way to the bottom even when you can’t touch the bottom! It was like swimming in a pool) that they have to use rocks instead of sand to preserve the water. So it was a little painful walking around in bare feet, and laying out wasn’t really an option. Unless you wanted welts. But laying out was never an option anyway, because we obviously had to swim and explore the whole time! The water was the bluest water EVER with white foam like you see in the movies, but never in real life! We also went cliff jumping, which was totally awesome! I think it’s actually supposed to be cliff diving, but I don’t really know how to dive without killing myself, and I figured now wasn’t the best time to experiment. It was so exhilarating! It’s like one of those things where you walk across the hot coals, just to say you’re brave enough. It makes you feel like you can do anything! And adrenaline really is addicting. The more we jumped, the higher we kept having to climb for the adrenaline rush. No one was injured though, don’t you worry. Another highlight of the water being so clear was that you could see jelly fish coming to attack you from miles away, so you had time to plan your escape route.

After the beach, we headed back for dinner at the hostel, and then we showered and got ready to go out on the town! We headed to this dance club called the English Inn, which is in the middle of the town square, way up on a hill. It was so fun! The club played American music, and we just danced and hung out all night. We made a ton of great new friends studying abroad from all over.

I’ll tell you about Day 2 in Positano tomorrow!

For now, I have a few papers to write.  Silly school. I guess that’s why they call it STUDYING abroad. Dang it, I keep forgetting that part.

Just kidding 🙂

Love you all!!

xoxo Lizzie xoxo

Posted in: Go

Leave a Reply

