Lake Como. Part 2!

Hey hey hey!

Sooo….Day 2 at Lake Como was a lot of fun as well! wahoo!

We decided to get up early (early as in…we set our alarms for 7:30, but nobody actually got out of bed until 8. typical.) so we could head downstairs for the complimentary hotel breakfast (by now, you should fully understand my feelings about free food).

I was totally expecting: orange juice from concentrate, coffee flavored gasoline, brown fruit, tiny boxes of cereal, stale bread, stale croissants, grey, oddly shaped sausage, a complicated waffle making contraption, and infamous hotel scrambled eggs.

But I was so surprised because the breakfast was 100% awesome. I had: real scrambled eggs (shocking), ham, an apple croissant thing, a mocha cappuccino and delicious pineapple juice! LOTS of delicious pineapple juice. So good.

We had planned to go hiking that day, but none of us planned on it being cold and rainy, so we weren’t exactly dressed for the weather. But it was our last day there, so we decided to make the best of it, talk in our fun British accents and set out for a hike anyway! Once we started walking at an extremely fast pace, we warmed up and forgot all about the frigid weather. I was actually glad it was chillier and rainy, because hiking when it’s hot is the worst. Since we were further away from the lake and closer to the mountains, there wasn’t as much of a breeze either, so it was a nice, gentle rain. Beautiful!

I can’t even describe to you how gorgeous this place is. We followed the path on the map we picked up from the tourist office, and it took us through the cutest little towns way up in the mountains! Since it was a rainy morning, there was this misty fog all along the tops of the mountains and over the lake. We hiked all morning, and then stopped for coffee and hot chocolate at this little coffee shop in one of the other towns. I ordered espresso con panna and it was DE-licious! We also ate lunch at this hotel that had a restaurant attached. It was family-owned and everything was homemade. So, I’m sure you can imagine how delicious that was too.

We planned to stay a little longer, but by that time, the chilliness was getting to all of us, so we decided to take the ferry back to the train station and leave a little early. We had a few hours to kill at the Milan train station, so we sat at a cafe and people-watched.  I’ve been to Milan about three times now, but so far, all I’ve seen is the inside of the train station. That’ll change soon, because we’re spending a weekend there at the end of September. Yay!

After we boarded, all of us quickly noticed the guy sitting next to me on the train was all kinds of attractive. He was writing something in a notebook when I sat down, so we obviously have lots in common since we both share a passion for writing. He closed the notebook and put it away as soon as I sat there though, so I can only assume it was his diary. just kidding. I’m weird about people reading what I’m writing too, even if it’s nothing personal. It’s just….a thing that I have. So, there’s two things we have in common.

Then, he proceeded to stare out the window while I stared at him and planned the rest of our lives together. So…that’s how that train ride went. When we arrived in Florence, he stood up, grabbed his messenger bag from the overhead compartment, and walked straight out of my life forever.

Just kidding. I’m not crazy.
…well…for the most part.

Even though our weekend was super long and adventurous, I actually didn’t feel tired at all! Just exhilarated! I think it’s mostly because I was operating on adrenaline and several cups of coffee. Actually, that’s kind of how this whole semester has been. I’ve decided all I’m going to do in the spring is sleep, because I’ll be bored with my Ohio life, first of all, let’s be serious….and I’ll have to catch up from not sleeping at all this semester. It’s just too exciting to sleep ever!

On Sunday, we went to church at St. Mark’s (our new home) and it was fantastic, as always! Father William (the new priest) just moved here and had invited us to his house warming party on Saturday! Unfortunately, we were in Lake Como and couldn’t attend, so we bought him a house warming gift.

We sang one of my favorite hymns and read one of my favorite psalms at church too! After the service, they always have refreshments and hanging out, so we stayed for a little bit and met some cool people! The church has some apartments it rents to people staying in the city for a short time, and Jason (the guy from Michigan) lives in one of them, so we got to meet his adorable kitten!! So. precious. We also met a girl studying jewelry-making here this semester, and a guy from Northern Africa who teaches business at a university in Florence!  (“um…if you’re from Africa…why are you white?” sorry, I had to. :P) He helped explain to us the confusing airline system when we travel and talked to us about how good studying abroad will look on our resumes. I love everyone we’ve met. We are officially blessed, and it’s only the third week.

So, that was our awesome weekend!! I hope yours was equally, if not more fantastic!! (I think I said that last time, but it needed to be emphasized again!!)

Sending love and prayers your way!!!!!

xoxo Lizzie xoxo

Writing Playlist:
Birdy – Skinny Love
Tyrone Wells – Happy as the Sun
Owl City – Galaxies
Monk and Neagle – 21st Time
Joshua Radin – Tomorrow is Gonna be Better
Michael Buble – Crazy Love
Switchfoot – Restless
Chris Tomlin – Captured

 

Posted in: Go

Leave a Reply

