Firenze: home sweet home.

Hello everybody!

I’m sorry it’s been a while since I’ve updated this blog. We’ve been extremely busy, and we’re about to be even busier soon! woah! We’re traveling every single weekend in October and most of November. If you add in all of the things we’re doing for school now that the semester is officially underway, I have a feeling these next few months are going to fly by.  At first, I thought four months here would be plenty of time, but now I feel like it’s not nearly enough! I can’t believe it’s already been over a month since we arrived.

P.S: Did you know that school doesn’t start here until October? What the heck. And if schools can’t afford to hire enough teachers since the school system isn’t funded very well by the government, it doesn’t start until even later when more teachers can be hired. And they’re still all so much smarter than us. Every single European I’ve met speaks at least three different languages. So. Ridiculous.

Anyway, in spite of the fact that I’m jealous of their school system, we’ve been doing a lot of fun things lately! We’ve had the past couple of weekends to hang out in Florence, which was really nice for a change. It almost feels like we’ve been so busy going to school through the week and traveling on the weekends that we haven’t had much of a chance to explore the place where we live! Which is just not acceptable. So it was nice to do some local things and kick it in our ‘hood. I also have had more opportunities to run in the evenings since we’ve been home, which is one of my favorite parts of the day. I love being up on the Piazzale Michelangelo overlooking the whole city. Now that it’s fall, the leaves are starting to change and it smells like campfires and leaves and autumn while I’m running! I love it.

We went to a local wine tasting festival, and that was fun! It was also fun getting some free merchandise, like wine glasses and a little purse. We checked out the Vogue Fashion’s Night Out as well, which was also really fun. All of the stores were giving away free stuff (do you see a trend here?), and there were some concerts and other things going on around the city. Plus, everyone was super fashionable. So it was lovely hanging with all the hip, European fashionistas for a night.

On Mondays, a restaurant across the river called House of Sizzle does Margarita Mondays, (and taco tuesdays and chicken wing wednesdays….we NEVER hang out there, if that’s what you were thinking) so we went there on monday for margaritas and quesadillas! That was really fun because we had a group of like 20 people. They had to push a bunch of chairs and tables together to accommodate us. But they shouldn’t complain, because they made a lot of money from us. So there.

Last night was really fun too because a bunch of us went out to dinner at this cute italian restaurant called Il Gato e Il Volpe, which means The Cat and the Fox. We’ve been there four times already because it has delicious food, and it’s just so cute inside! It’s really authentic, with brick walls, and wine racks and wooden floors. I love it. After dinner, we decided to go to the disco! That was a lot of fun! It was the first time I’ve ever been to a club and actually had fun! yay! Usually, they just annoy me because it’s not really my scene at all. We went with a couple of our friends from church, so everybody was on the same page as far as not drinking or flirting with random, creepy men. Instead, we all just hung out together and acted like dorks. We had some awesome dance moves! I love hanging out with friends and dancing. It’s the best.

Today after church, we went out to lunch with a few new friends, and then decided to check out this organic market on the outskirts of the city..but it was closed. It was still fun though, because along the way, we found a dance store that sells leotards and tights! yay! I’ve been looking for one of those. We also found a cute antique market that had a lot of really cool things. Plus, we got to hang out, which is always a good thing. I don’t know if I’ve mentioned this before, but I love all of our friends here. In my opinion, we became friends with all the best people in Florence. Obviously.

I’m also really, really in love with my art history class. A lot. I just want to talk about it all the time. I feel like I’m learning so much! That class and my Italian language class are my favorites! I love learning Italian, and because it’s similar to Spanish, it’s easy to figure out what most words mean.

Art history is awesome too. We just randomly had class inside a 14th century palace last week. No big deal. Except that it was SO cool. The palace was huge and beautiful! They didn’t have much paper back then, so people would write and draw important things they wanted to remember on the walls; so there are all of these ancient inscriptions all over the walls of the palace! For some reason, that just fascinated me. I kept trying to figure out what everything means. Some of it is important events they wanted to remember, like dates and things like that. But I kept wondering if maybe some of it was just from the kids running around and drawing pictures on the walls, or like, a grocery list or something. One of them looked like a math equation, and I was wondering if the teenage kids did their homework on the walls? maybe? I’m sure that totally happened back then. I just felt like imagining things that way made it more relatable. Because even though those people lived in the 1300’s, maybe they were just like us! Who knows? The palace also didn’t have a ceiling, so when it rained, it was designed so that all of the rain fell down the center of the palace into one area in the living room, where it drained out. How cool would that be to have it rain inside your house?!?! I’m totally designing my house that way. Wait….I mean, I’m totally designing my PALACE that way. Houses are for peasants. Duh.

Well, that’s what’s been going on in my life recently! We took a field trip to Milan this week, which I will tell you all about in my next post because it was awesome! We had the chance to tour a newspaper newsroom, the US consolate and the Duomo (which was so gorgeous, I almost died). And we got to see the Virgin Records radio station completely by accident, where I also apparently said hello to a famous band getting interviewed, but I didn’t know who they were and we were kind of lost at the time….so it wasn’t really that life changing.

I hope everything is going fantastic for you! Stay classy. Have a wonderful week!

xoxo Elizabeth xoxo

Writing playlist:

I’ve just seen a face – The beatles
7×70 – chris august
This little light of mine – addison road
avalanche – hillsong united
whatever it is – zac brown band
angel – jack johnson
river of dreams – billy joel
you and I – ingrid michaelson
holocene – bon iver
Manhattan – norah jones

Posted in: Go

Leave a Reply

