Where to next?

Ciao amici!

Guess where I am?

Well, you probably guessed right since its only like my mom who reads this….but I am back in Firenze! And I decided to dust off the blog for some NEW travel updates because, well, my life is somewhat exciting again!

Long story short…I came back to Florence with Vince (Vince is a handsome guy that I met last time I was here for four months in 2012…..for full details, check out my story about how we met in Chicken Soup for the Soul: The Dating Game)

Vince is an awesome artist who owns his own jewelry business (vwhjewelry.com) where he designs and fabricates all of his work by hand using florentine styles of engraving (hence, here we are in Florence).

Last time he was here to create some work (check THIS brooch out), and this time, he is teaching a two-week intensive engraving workshop at an art school here in Florence. I am here with him to blog (if I actually do it) and work on some writing. However, both of us are absolutely in love with this city and our lives here. We can’t help but feel like there is a bigger reason why we’re actually here and can’t imagine life without moving back someday, at least for a longer period of time than a few months. There are some things in the works….but…..we’ll save those details for later. Right now, nothing is set in stone yet, but I will keep you posted!

So…here are a few updates about what we’ve been up to so far! We left Ohio and all of its snowy/rainy glory on Tuesday (good riddance) and arrived here Wednesday morning. We have been here for a little less than a week. We took a LOT of planes to get here, with the first one leaving from Akron/Canton airport and landing in Atlanta, Georgia. Somehow, I always end up having a connecting flight in Atlanta even though I HATE the Atlanta airport. You would think they would take me into consideration when deciding which route to take, honestly.

I also think it’s dumb that no matter where you’re going, you always have to fly to Atlanta, which seems to always be totally out of the way.  I also think its dumb that they board planes from front to back. I also think its dumb that they always, ALWAYS overbook so you have to check your bag at the gate and be without all the food you snuck in for the entire flight.

Okay, before this post turns into me just lamenting about planes (I think it already has), let’s get back to our trip!

After Atlanta, we took a nine hour flight to PARIS! As soon as we stepped off the plane, I commented on the fact that I love the way Paris smells like potpourri and perfume all the time. It smells exactly the way you would expect.

We got to experience it for a split second at least as we were sprinting through the airport in typical Charles de Gaulle fashion. The Charles de Gaulle airport in Paris is HUGE, and nobody is ever walking, or acting humane in any way.  No matter how long of a layover you have, you are doomed to never, ever make your next flight; so everyone is sprinting, and pushing, and shoving, and yelling in French, and, with about 40 minutes to get to the other side of the airport, we joined them as soon as our feet hit the ground.  Although, it did feel good to run about twelve miles with heavy suitcases after sitting on a plane for nine hours.  We can check exercising off the list for that day.

We DID make our flight, however, (first people ever!) and we got our first taste of French coffee and croissants on the plane, which made everything better. Typically, plane food, and ESPECIALLY plane coffee, does not appeal to me at all, but in Europe, even plane bread and coffee taste like a piece of heaven.

We got to see the Swiss Alps out the window again, which take my breath away every time.  As we were flying closer and closer to Florence, I kept getting this peaceful feeling that I wasn’t going somewhere new and exciting, but instead, that I was returning to somewhere comforting and familiar. It felt like I was coming home!

We made it to Florence, and we have the cutest little apartment while we’re here!

photo 3

I’ll fill you in on everything we have already done so far next time!
 Right now, there is an entire city full of places to explore. The only question is: Dove?

photo 4

Where to next?

Talk to you soon!

-Lizzie

Posted in: Go

Leave a Reply

